How to have different responses given the number of times player repeats action

Hello all! I’m new to making text adventure games. I’ve made a few basic games in RPG maker but that’s about it. Anyway; I’m trying to figure out how to have different printed text that is dependent on the number of times the player repeats the action.

For example:
player kicks rock 1st time: “you hurt your foot. The rock is unfazed”
Player kicks rock 2nd time: “you hurt your foot again. The rock is unfazed”
Player kicks rock 3rd time: “you have broken your toe. You aren’t very smart are you”

If anyone could help me out, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you

Hello.

First off, I would create a new command: kick_cmd.

My kick_cmd command would look something like this:

COMMAND PATTERN: kick #object#
NAME: kick_cmd
SCRIPT:

if (not HasAttribute(object, "kick")) {
  msg ("Kicking " + GetDefiniteName(object) + " would serve no purpose.")
}
else {
  do (object, "kick")
}

That way, when you try to kick anything which has no kick script attribute set on it, it will behave like this:

> kick the frob
Kicking the frob would serve no purpose.

Then, I would add a kick script attribute to my rock object with a script like this:

if (not HasAttribute(this, "times_kicked")) {
  this.times_kicked = 0
}
if (this.times_kicked < 4) {
  this.times_kicked = this.times_kicked + 1
}
switch (this.times_kicked) {
  case (1) {
    msg ("You hurt your foot. The rock is unfazed.")
  }
  case (2) {
    msg ("You hurt your foot again. The rock is unfazed.")
  }
  case (3) {
    msg ("You have broken your toe. You aren't very smart, are you?")
  }
  default {
    msg ("You are not allowed to kick the rock anymore!")
  }
}

Here is the example game's code:

https://gist.githubusercontent.com/KVonGit/599da0101df5eea7a338c4942290bda4/raw/bf4376ac2d28a6cdd36addf9f8eb004250467e3f/Kick%2520the%2520Rock.aslx