X3 Battle Help

I imagine this might be a rather lengthy thread eventually. I will try to figure out most of this myself. I also think it will go a lot faster once I get comfortable with it. So... sorry (and thanks!) in advance!

Basic Plan: Because there is NOT a ton of battles to be had and weapons are fairly limited (probably 4-5 total), I plan on placing a simple 'attack' verb on each monster. In this script, I will use a flag setting system to check to see which weapon the player has equipped. For each weapon If/Else If, there will be random chance Ifs nested within. Example: If 60%, then "Great Attack!", Else If 30% "Good Attack.", Else 10% "Missed!". Obviously I've dumbed it down a bit, but...

Question 1: Will this set-up work? I think it will...

Question 2: I would like each successful attack to have a range of health points that get deducted. I know I am being a code noob here, but I was thinking something like this:

if (GetBoolean(femur, "femurequipped")) {
  msg ("You swing the femur down at the fanged rat.")
  if (RandomChance(60)) {
    msg ("Your makeshift hammer catches the rat solidly in the head.  Good strike!")
    Fanged Rat.Health = Fanged Rat.Health - GetRandomInt(10-25)
  }

which obviously doesn't work. I'd like to subtract the health in a range for each type of attack. How do I code for subtracting a GetRandomInt range?

That looks like it should work.... except...
first error... GetRandomInt(60)...
60% chance to hit I assume...
try this:
Hit=GetRandomInt(1,100) // number between 1 and 100
if (Hit >39 and Hit<60){
Dam=GetRandomInt(10,25) // number between 10 and 25
msg("You hit and did " + Dam + " points!")
Rat.Health=Rat.Health-Dam
}
//Then you can add other ranges for your hits...
if (Hit>21 and Hit<40){
Dam=GetRandomInt(10,25)/2
// or Dam=GetRandomInt(5,12)
msg("You winged it for " + Dam + " points!")
Rat.Health=Rat.Health-Dam
}
if (Hit<20){
msg("DAMM!!! You missed!")
}

This:

Fanged Rat.Health = Fanged Rat.Health - GetRandomInt(10-25)